Scholarship Overview

Australia Awards Scholarships, formerly known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), offer full-time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions to people from developing countries, particularly those in the Indo-Pacific region.

Host Institution(s)

Any of the Australian Institutions Participating


Undergraduate or postgraduate programs related to your country's development priorities, as listed on the participating country profiles.

Australia Awards are not available for training in aviation, nuclear technology, or military training.

Scholarship value

Full tuition fees, return air travel, establishment allowance, contribution to living expenses (CLE), Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), Introductory Academic Program (IAP), Pre-course English (PCE) fees, and so on are common scholarship benefits. The full list of benefits can be found on the official website.

The scholarships are available for the minimum time required to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training.


Eligible candidates must meet the following:

  • Be a citizen of one of the participating Asian, Pacific, African, or Middle Eastern countries. See the full list of countries taking part.
  • be a minimum of 18 years of age on 1 February of the year of commencing the scholarship;
  • be a citizen of a participating country (as listed on the Australia Awards website) and be residing in and applying for the scholarship from their country of citizenship;
  • not be a citizen of Australia, hold permanent residency in Australia or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently;
  • At any time during the application, selection, or mobilization phases, you must not be married to, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency (note: residents of Cook Islands, Niue, and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship are eligible but must apply for a Student visa [subclass 500]);
    not be active-duty military personnel;
  • not have previously received a long-term Australia Award unless they have lived outside of Australia for twice as long as they lived in Australia (for example, a previous awardee who has been on an Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia for four years will not be eligible to apply for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have lived outside of Australia for eight years);
  • not have any criminal convictions (including those in their home country), including those relating to Child Protection and PSEAH;
  • recipients of the Pacific Secondary School Scholarship Program (PSSSP) who completed their secondary school education in Australia the previous year are eligible to apply for a long-term Australia Award;
  • have met any specific criteria established by the Program Area or the government of the applicant's country of citizenship
  • be able to meet the admission requirements of the institution where the award will be undertaken (this may require Program Areas to withdraw an award offer if the recipient is unable to meet the institution's admission requirements). This may not be known until Program Areas request a placement at a particular institution);
  • be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs to hold a Student Visa. If the recipient is unable to meet the visa requirements, the Program Area may be forced to withdraw an award offer.
  • Applicants must not apply for a scholarship for a course of study at a lower academic level than they already have (for example, applying for a Master's scholarship when they already have a PhD); and applicants must inform the Program Area of any connection or relationship to staff employed at Program Areas (including locally engaged staff at post) or with managing contractors so that the application can be managed properly and transparently.

Application instructions 

Check your country's open and close dates, and then choose your country of citizenship/residency from the list of participating countries for more information on eligibility, priority areas, and how to apply. Applications can be submitted either online or by mail (if unable to apply online). The deadline is May 1, 2023 at 11:59 p.m. AEST.

For detailed and up-to-date information on how to apply for this scholarship, please read the how to apply page and visit the country specific pages, as well as the official website (link found below).